top of page
Welcome (1).png

Jackson Plantation
Historic Site

1030 FM 2004 

Lake Jackson, TX 77566

(at the Park Ride near HWY 332)

Open first Saturday of every month

10 AM - 4 PM

Admission by donation


Founded in the 1840s, the Jackson Plantation was the second of three plantations developed by Abner Jackson. Originally known as "Lake Place", the site was once a bustling sugar plantation that stretched over 4642 acres with more than 80 enslaved workers.


The site is significant to the history of industrialized sugar production in Brazoria County, it has been designated as a State Antiquities Landmark by the Texas Historical Commission. Visitors can explore the archeological remains of this historic site, notably those of the main house and sugar mill. 

Abner Plantation .jpg
Plantation Main House .JPG

What to Expect 

The main house, sugar mill, and structures A,B,C,D, were all excavated during several archeological field schools in the 1990s. There are additional structures E through J, that have yet to be excavated. 

Excavated Sites

Main House 

Store Room 


Carriage House

Sugar Mill 




Experience History

Help Preserve History 
by Donating Today

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page