The Lake Jackson Historical Association is a non-profit organization operating the Lake Jackson Historical Museum, Alden Dow Office Museum, and Abner Jackson Plantation Site. Our mission is to provide education relative to the history and culture of an area of Brazoria County, Texas known as Lake Jackson.
See for yourself the fully restored and recreated 1943 office Alden B. Dow used to design the city of Lake Jackson’s buildings and winding streets. One of the first buildings constructed in the city, it housed many of Lake Jackson’s firsts; including the post office, city hall, barbershop, and much more.
The Lake Jackson Historical Museum chronicles the rich history of the area from native Karankawa hunters to wartime industry and beyond.
Visit our life-like robots and learn about the streets named This Way and That Way. Read about Tejano super start Selena's early years in Lake Jackson.
Experience the Windecker Eagle airplane, see a movie in the 1943 Theatre exhibit, and pore over maps and books in the Georgia Walley Research Center.
Ruins From Ruin
Built and operated by enslaved labor, the Lake Jackson Plantation was owned by Abner Jackson and his wife, Margaret. The plantation became one of the most profitable sugar refineries in the state in 1844.
Following the Emancipation Proclamation, the plantation was maintained by convict labor. The working conditions were too inhumane that eventually led to the end of it being working plantation.
A century later, archeologists and with the help of a team of volunteers, began exploring this area in hopes to learn about the plantation and the technology of sugar making. In 1992, Professor, Joan Few, from the University of Houston at Clear Lake spear-headed the excavation at the Plantation.
Today, the plantation is a State Archeological Landmark, the property includes the remains of 12 structures on roughly four acres of land. The plantations site is operated and maintained by Lake Jackson Historical Association volunteers.