Historic Plantation Site
Founded in the 1840s, the Jackson Plantation was the second of three plantations developed by Abner Jackson. Originally known as “Lake Place,” the site was once a bustling sugar plantation that stretched over 4642 acres with more than 80 enslaved workers.
Significant to the history of industrialized sugar production in Brazoria County, it has been designated as a State Antiquities Landmark by the Texas Historical Commission. Visitors can explore the archeological remains of this historic site, most notably those of the main house and sugar mill.
The following photograph is the only known image of the Abner Plantation main house. More than likely this image was taken before the 1900 Galveston Hurricane.
Despite the lack of paper evidence documenting the lives of the enslaved workers of the Lake Jackson Plantation, it is still possible to piece together some of who they were and what their life was like. Below are the links to different sources containing information about individuals and groups of enslaved people owned by Abner Jackson. The following list of names was taken from the property inventory of Abner Jackson after his death.